GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Minutes of the February 27, 2015 Meeting

Lorraine Tyson, Chair

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

The Human Resources Committee of the Board of Trustees met on Friday, February 27, 2015 in Engbretson Hall at Governors State University. The meeting was called to order at 8:35 am by Committee Chair Lorraine Tyson. Also in attendance were Committee members Brian Mitchell, Bruce Friefeld, and Eileen Durkin. Trustees Jack Beaupre, Anibal Taboas, Patrick Ormsby, and Student Trustee Jeremy Joyce were also in attendance.

Others present: Elaine P. Maimon, President; Deborah E. Bordelon, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Alexis Kennedy, General Counsel; Karen Kissel, Vice President for Administration and Finance; Will Davis, Vice President for Development; Maureen Kelly, Director of Governmental and Community Relations; Aurelio Valente, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs; Rashidah J. Muhammad, Faculty Senate President; LaTonia Richmond, Civil Service Senate Vice President; Lisa Wallace, Student Senate President; Joyce Coleman, Associate Vice President of Human Resources and Diversity; Pulchratia Kinney-Smith, Director of Human Resources Operations; Colleen Sexton, Associate Provost; Ann Vendrely, Associate Provost; Reinhold Hill, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Ellen Foster Curtis, Dean, College of Business and Public Administration; Beth Cada, Dean, College of Health and Human Services; Lydia Morrow Ruetten, Dean, University Library; Vickie Person and Xinghua Gao, Faculty Senate Representatives; and David Dixon, Internal Auditor.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Tyson requested a motion to go into Executive Session. Joyce made a motion to go into Executive Session pursuant to Sections 2(c)1 and 2(c)11 of the Illinois Open Meetings Act. Friefeld seconded. Roll call was taken and Mitchell, Durkin, Friefeld, Ormsby, Tyson, Taboas and Joyce were present. Trustee Beaupre arrived shortly after the roll call. The Executive Session began at 8:36 am, and adjourned at 9:05 am by a motion from Mitchell and a second from Friefeld. Open Session resumed at 9:08 am.

INFORMATION ITEMS

Report on the Civil Service Merit Board

Mitchell, GSU representative to the Civil Service Merit Board, reported that he had been elected to the Merit Board Executive Committee. A proposed rule change that would allow out-of-state residents to be considered for professional, semi-professional and managerial changes is open for public comment for 45 days, beginning February 13, 2015. The Civil Service Merit Board Employee Advisory Committee will be meeting at GSU on April 16 and 17. Public hearings on five recommendations to the State Universities Civil Service System (SUCSS) from the Human Resources Directors' Advisory Committee are scheduled for March 11 and 13. Finally, the SUCSS office's budget has been reduced by \$56,000, which is a 5% budget reduction.

ACTION ITEMS

Approval of Minutes – December 5, 2014

Tyson requested a motion to approve the minutes of the December 5, 2014 Human Resources Committee meeting. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Resolution 15—24: Approval to Transfer Tenure in the College of Arts and Sciences

Tyson requested a motion to approve Resolution 15-24. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. Maimon explained that this resolution is being brought before the Board because in the Administration's judgment, considering GSU's state-of-the-art science facilities, it is in the University's best interest to have a department of science separate from math and computing. This will also allow the University to bring in a division chair that has strong National Science Fund (NSF) experience. A search is currently ongoing. She commented that this is an academic position, and strategic in the University's efforts to gain more NSF funding. Bordelon added that the faculty who are tenured in chemistry and biology will move into the Division of Chemistry and Biological Sciences (CBS) and those tenured in math and computer science will move into the Division of Computing, Mathematics and Technology (CMT). A roll call vote was taken and Tyson, Mitchell, Durkin, Friefeld, Beaupre, Ormsby, Taboas and Joyce voted aye.

There were no requests for Public Comment.

Tyson requested a motion to adjourn. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote, and the meeting of the Human Resources Committee adjourned at 9:14 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Johns Maloney